Taranaki Art News
Sign up for our monthly Email Newsletter about new exhibitions
 July 2017


Virtual Tart Exhibition
The exhibition on the Virtual Tart site for August 2017 is:

Woodcut Prints by Alby Carter of Okato, New Zealand


Coming Soon - (a new exhibition each month)
(email Dale if you're interested in having an exhibition on the Virtual TART site)

2017

September -   ICE19
The 19th International Collage Exhibition/Exchange
Details for being part of this can be found here.

October -   The Agenbite of Inwit
Paintings by Paul Hutchinson and assemblages by Dale Copeland
November -   Paintings by Tony Rumball of New Zealand

December -   Stu & Myfanwy

2018

January -   - - - - - ?

May -   Eleven Eleven
C=22 years of collage by Art Blue of USA


Percy Thomson Gallery in Stratford
Down to Earth an exhibition by more than 30 artists, curated by the gallery director Rhonda Bunyan
Until August 20th.
An excellent exhibition, well worth a visit.

From August 25th to September 17th, ICE19 - the 19th International Collage Exhibition/Exchange

From August 25th to October 15th, Lens on China and Japan, the photography of Brian Brake.
Also on exhibition: Pastel Artists of New Zealand


Kina Design & Art Space, New Plymouth
New paintings by Rae van't Hof


Home Work - Taranaki Art Now, the exhibition of Taranaki art at PukeAriki
An excellent showcase of Taranaki art. Wee're indebted to Puke Ariki for making it happen.
Until November.


Bill Massey's Tourists, 4th Wall theatre in Strandon.
A play by Jan Bolwell - her grandfather's story.

Friday 1st September, 7.30


Mokau Museum and Art Gallery
Currently showing in the Gallery, artworks by Dennis Walton (Awakino) and Peter Holbrook (Pio Pio)

Opening 18th August, photographs of the Tongaporutu coastline by Pat Greefield


The Art Room New gallery on Egmont Street
Community Art
See what artwork is being made throughout Taranaki.


The 19th annual International Collage Exhibition/Exchange, 2017
Yes, it's nearly time for Ice19 !!! In September 2017.
Deadline 20th August.

68 artists have already sent their packages.

Details for taking part can be seen here.
And names of artists already in can be seen here.

The 18th collection is now showing on its permanent home at outofsight.co.nz/Ice18

The collection, one work from each artist, has gone to the permanent collection of the Verbeke Foundation in Belgium.

I visited the Verbeke Foundation while I was in Europe ... WELL worth the visit. A stunning place.


Govett Brewster Art Gallery, New Plymouth
Now back and working, 12 and 2pm
Flip and Two Twisters (Trilogy)


Patea Gallery
93 Egmont Street (next to the Four Square), Main Road, Patea
The gallery is a non-profit making enterprise for the arts community.
The gallery aims to showcase local artists including those with connections to the area, to those who visit or pass through Patea, in a professional space.
The gallery is open five days a week: Wednesday – Sunday.
10-4 Weds-Sat, 10-2pm Sunday


Art Taranaki - de retour ŕ Paris
Artistes de Nouvelle-Zélande au 59 Rivoli

11 of us travelled and stayed in Paris. Carrying over 600 (!) works, by 30 Taranaki artists.
It was grand. More than 50 sales, lots of stories to tell.
You can see some of it on Facebook .... look for Travelling TArts.
or just click here.


New Plymouth's Mine
A sculpture to display a German naval mine which washed ashore by Belt Road in 1943.
Designed by Dale Copeland, and perfectly constructed by PACE engineering,
Now installed on the Coastal Walkway, just down from Belt Road.
It's a fascinating story, from the newly-formed New Plymouth Bomb Disposal Squad in 1943 up to 2015.
The book is finished and available from Dale. See details on her website.


VIRTUAL TART @ HOME

108 pages, 110 full-colour illustrations on high quality glossy stock. A5 size.
Art and artists from Taranaki, New Zealand.
$25 plus postage
Details are on www.dalecopeland.co.nz/Press


  Front Page   Exhibition   Showcase   News    Links    Guestbook 





These Taranaki artists have more of their work on their own Internet sites:
Paul Hutchinson at www.paulhutchinson.co.nz
and also on his "Another day" blog, at www.http://paul-hutchinson.blogspot.co.nz/
Dale Copeland at www.dalecopeland.co.nz
Mili Purpil at www.milipurpil.com
Margaret Scott at www.margaretscott.co.nz
Graham Kirk at www.grahamkirk.com
Amanda Griffin at www.gryphondesign.co.nz
Marianne Muggeridge at www.mariannemuggeridge.nz
Roger Morris at www.rogermorris.nz/
Renate Verbrugge at www.renateverbrugge/
Robert Clement at www.stainedglass-studio.co.nz
Carl Fairweather at www.carlfairweather.com
Michaela Stoneman at www.mbstoneman.com
Dorothy Andrews at www.dorothyandrewsartist.com


Got some more news for us?
please email


  Front Page   Exhibition   Showcase   News    Links    Guestbook