Taranaki Art News
Sign up for our monthly Email Newsletter about new exhibitions
 June 2017


Virtual Tart Exhibition
The exhibition on the Virtual Tart site for June 2017 is:

Body of Work
by Erin Libby, USA


Coming Soon - (a new exhibition each month)
(email Dale if you're interested in having an exhibition on the Virtual TART site)

2017

July -   Paintings by Nikki Romney of Nelson.

August -   Woodcut Prints by Alby Carter of Okato, New Zealand

September -   ICE19
The 19th International Collage Exhibition/Exchange
Details for being part of this can be found here.

2018

May -   ..... Eleven Eleven
C=22 years of collage by Art Blue of USA


The Art Room New gallery on Egmont Street
Back from Paris until the end of June.


Percy Thomson Gallery in Stratford
Opening Friday June 30th, 7pm
Moments of Inertia
Work by Viv Davu and Su Hendeles


Mokau Museum and Art Gallery
until 7th July 2017
Amanda Hewlett, New Plymouth
Painting


Home Work - Taranaki Art Now, the exhibition of Taranaki art at PukeAriki
The first one, in 2014, was an excellent show - we're indebted to Puke Ariki for making it happen.
Opening Friday 9th June, 6 - 8pm
Until November.


Art Taranaki - de retour ŕ Paris
Artistes de Nouvelle-Zélande au 59 Rivoli

11 of us travelled and stayed in Paris. Carrying over 600 (!) works, by 30 Taranaki artists.
It was grand. More than 50 sales, lots of stories to tell.
You can see some of it on Facebook .... look for Travelling TArts.
or just click here.


The 19th annual International Collage Exhibition/Exchange, 2017
Yes, there will be an Ice19 !!! In September 2017.
Some keen artists have already sent their packages!

Details for taking part can be seen here.
And names of artists already in can be seen here.

The 18th collection is now showing on its permanent home at outofsight.co.nz/Ice18

The collection, one work from each artist, has gone to the permanent collection of the Verbeke Foundation in Belgium.

I visited the Verbeke Foundation while I was in Europe ... WELL worth the visit. A stunning place.


Govett Brewster Art Gallery, New Plymouth
Now back and working, 12 and 2pm
Flip and Two Twisters (Trilogy)

Young Visionaries Art Classes, after school.
Sessions for ages 6-8 Wednesdays, and 9-13 Thursdays
Book online at govettbrewster.com or for enquiries ph 06 759 6715


Patea Gallery
93 Egmont Street (next to the Four Square), Main Road, Patea
The gallery is a non-profit making enterprise for the arts community.
The gallery aims to showcase local artists including those with connections to the area, to those who visit or pass through Patea, in a professional space.
The gallery will be open five days a week: Wednesday – Sunday.
10-4 Weds-Sat, 10-2pm Sunday

See Volume 3 of the 'Collage Collection' book, on www.dalecopeland.co.nz/Press/press.htm


New Plymouth's Mine
A sculpture to display a German naval mine which washed ashore by Belt Road in 1943.
Designed by Dale Copeland, and perfectly constructed by PACE engineering,
Now installed on the Coastal Walkway, just down from Belt Road.
It's a fascinating story, from the newly-formed New Plymouth Bomb Disposal Squad in 1943 up to 2015.
The book is finished and available from Dale. See details on her website.


VIRTUAL TART @ HOME

108 pages, 110 full-colour illustrations on high quality glossy stock. A5 size.
Art and artists from Taranaki, New Zealand.
$25 plus postage
Details are on www.dalecopeland.co.nz/Press


  Front Page   Exhibition   Showcase   News    Links    Guestbook 





These Taranaki artists have more of their work on their own Internet sites:
Paul Hutchinson at www.paulhutchinson.co.nz
and also on his "Another day" blog, at www.http://paul-hutchinson.blogspot.co.nz/
Dale Copeland at www.dalecopeland.co.nz
Mili Purpil at www.milipurpil.com
Margaret Scott at www.margaretscott.co.nz
Graham Kirk at www.grahamkirk.com
Amanda Griffin at www.gryphondesign.co.nz
Marianne Muggeridge at www.mariannemuggeridge.nz
Roger Morris at www.rogermorris.nz/
Renate Verbrugge at www.renateverbrugge/
Robert Clement at www.stainedglass-studio.co.nz
Carl Fairweather at www.carlfairweather.com
Michaela Stoneman at www.mbstoneman.com
Dorothy Andrews at www.dorothyandrewsartist.com


Got some more news for us?
please email


  Front Page   Exhibition   Showcase   News    Links    Guestbook