Taranaki Art News
Sign up for our monthly Email Newsletter about new exhibitions
 May 2017


Virtual Tart Exhibition
The exhibition on the Virtual Tart site for May 2017 is:

Art Taranaki - de retour ŕ Paris
Artistes de Nouvelle-Zélande au 59 Rivoli

A huge exhibition by 30 Taranaki artists,
showing in Paris from 9th May.


Coming Soon - (a new exhibition each month)
(email Dale if you're interested in having an exhibition on the Virtual TART site)

2017

June -   Body of Work
by Erin Libby, USA

July -   Paintings by Nikki Romney of Nelson.

August .....?

September -   ICE19
The 19th International Collage Exhibition/Exchange
Details for being part of this can be found here.


The Art Room New gallery on Egmont Street
Finishes at 4.30 Monday 29th May

Alby Carter, Dale Copeland, Paul Hutchinson, Roger Morris, Marianne Muggeridge.

Back from Paris from 31st May to end of June.
You can see how the works looked in the Paris gallery by clicking here.


Percy Thomson Gallery in Stratford
Opening Thursday June 1st, 7pm
Taranaki Arts Trail


Kina Gallery, New Plymouth
Animals and birds, originals and prints, by Rika Nagahata


Mokau Museum and Art Gallery
until 7th July 2017
Rachel Hirabayashi, Cromwell
Painting


Home Work - Taranaki Art Now, the exhibition of Taranaki art at PukeAriki
The first one, in 2014, was an excellent show - we're indebted to Puke Ariki for making it happen.
Opening Friday 9th June, 6 - 8pm
Until November.


Govett Brewster Art Gallery, New Plymouth
Now back and working, 12 and 2pm
Flip and Two Twisters (Trilogy)

Young Visionaries Art Classes, after school.
Sessions for ages 6-8 Wednesdays, and 9-13 Thursdays
Book online at govettbrewster.com or for enquiries ph 06 759 6715


Patea Gallery
93 Egmont Street (next to the Four Square), Main Road, Patea
The gallery is a non-profit making enterprise for the arts community.
The gallery aims to showcase local artists including those with connections to the area, to those who visit or pass through Patea, in a professional space.
The gallery will be open five days a week: Wednesday – Sunday.
10-4 Weds-Sat, 10-2pm Sunday


Taranaki à Paris
Art du Nouvelle Zélande
* * * * * * * * * * * * * *
It was a huge venture, and it was wonderful.
Taranaki art exhibited in Galerie 59 Rivoli in Paris, and 12 of us went over there enjoying that lovely city.
And we've been invited to go back again!!!! 8 - 22 May 2017.

Our new title:
Art Taranaki - de retour ŕ Paris
Artistes de Nouvelle-Zélande au 59 Rivoli

11 of us will travel and stay in Paris. Carrying over 600 (!) works, by 30 Taranaki artists.
Have a look at our 59Rivoli page
for artists' methods for making artwork that's easy to carry as luggage.
And see the continuing story on Facebook .... look for Travelling TArts.
or just click here.


The 19th annual International Collage Exhibition/Exchange, 2017
Yes, there will be an Ice19 !!! In September 2017.
Some keen artists have already sent their packages!

Details for taking part can be seen here.
And names of artists already in can be seen here.

The 18th collection is now showing on its permanent home at outofsight.co.nz/Ice18

The collection, one work from each artist, has gone to the permanent collection of the Verbeke Foundation in Belgium.

See Volume 3 of the 'Collage Collection' book, on www.dalecopeland.co.nz/Press/press.htm


New Plymouth's Mine
A sculpture to display a German naval mine which washed ashore by Belt Road in 1943.
Designed by Dale Copeland, and perfectly constructed by PACE engineering,
Now installed on the Coastal Walkway, just down from Belt Road.
It's a fascinating story, from the newly-formed New Plymouth Bomb Disposal Squad in 1943 up to 2015.
The book is finished and available from Dale. See details on her website.


VIRTUAL TART @ HOME

108 pages, 110 full-colour illustrations on high quality glossy stock. A5 size.
Art and artists from Taranaki, New Zealand.
$25 plus postage
Details are on www.dalecopeland.co.nz/Press


  Front Page   Exhibition   Showcase   News    Links    Guestbook 





These Taranaki artists have more of their work on their own Internet sites:
Paul Hutchinson at www.paulhutchinson.co.nz
and also on his "Another day" blog, at www.http://paul-hutchinson.blogspot.co.nz/
Dale Copeland at www.dalecopeland.co.nz
Mili Purpil at www.milipurpil.com
Margaret Scott at www.margaretscott.co.nz
Graham Kirk at www.grahamkirk.com
Amanda Griffin at www.gryphondesign.co.nz
Marianne Muggeridge at www.mariannemuggeridge.nz
Roger Morris at www.rogermorris.nz/
Renate Verbrugge at www.renateverbrugge/
Robert Clement at www.stainedglass-studio.co.nz
Carl Fairweather at www.carlfairweather.com
Michaela Stoneman at www.mbstoneman.com
Dorothy Andrews at www.dorothyandrewsartist.com


Got some more news for us?
please email


  Front Page   Exhibition   Showcase   News    Links    Guestbook