Taranaki Art News
Sign up for our monthly Email Newsletter about new exhibitions
 September 2017


Virtual Tart Exhibition
The exhibition on the Virtual Tart site for September 2017 (starting from 25th August) is:

The 19th International Collage Exhibition/Exchange - collages by artists around the world.


Coming Soon - (a new exhibition each month)
(email Dale if you're interested in having an exhibition on the Virtual TART site)

2017

October -   The Agenbite of Inwit
Paintings by Paul Hutchinson and assemblages by Dale Copeland

November -   Drawings by Tony Rumball of New Zealand

December -   Stu & Myfanwy

2018

January -   - - - - - ?

May -   Eleven Eleven
C=22 years of collage by Art Blue of USA


Mokau Museum and Art Gallery
Photographs of the Tongaporutu coastline by Pat Greefield

Opening 29th September CHALK and CHEESE an exhibition by father and son.
Salvage art by Wayne Morris and paintings by Stuart Tullett Morris.
See the Mokau Museum website at www.mokaumuseum.nz


The Art Room, New Plymouth
During October, an exhibition of paintings by Tony Rumball
(And Tony will also have an exhibition at the Zimmerman Gallery in Palmerston North during November.


Percy Thomson Gallery in Stratford
Until September 17th, ICE19 - the 19th International Collage Exhibition/Exchange

Until October 15th, Lens on China and Japan, the photography of Brian Brake.
Also on exhibition: Pastel Artists of New Zealand

For five days only, OLD PHOTOS OF STRATFORD
From the James McAllister Collection
Loaned to Percy Thomson Gallery by the Alexander Turnbull Library
5 days only Monday 18th September to Friday 22nd September
These photos are kept in storage at Percy Thomson Gallery. They will be exhibtited for five days only, between exhibitions.br>
THE NUN AND THE POET: JERUSALEM by MB Stoneman
23 September - 15 October
Opening event Sunday 24 September at 4pm
Stoneman recently spent time at Hiruharama (Jerusalem) located up the Whanganui River Road.
The settlement was originally set up by Suzanne Aubert in 1885, caring for orphans and the under-privileged.
New Zealand’s best-known and infamous poet, James K Baxter, established a community at Jerusalem in 1969.
Stoneman’s body of work, will reflect on time spent there, influenced by these people.

BESPOKE by Geoffrey Young
23 September – 15 October
Opening event Sunday 24 September at 4pm
Geoffrey is passionate about the design and crafting of bespoke wooden furniture;
sketching, drawing ideas, exploring structure and working with wood.
He is building a well-earned reputation for attention to detail and clever symmetrical designs.

Wallace Gallery, Morrinsville
It's a long way from Taranaki, but paintings by Paul Hutchinson and assemblages by Dale Copeland
will be showing. If you can get there. Until late September.

Molloy Gallery, Tataraimaka
MOVE, and exhibition by Linda McFetridge and Ché Rogers
Open weekends, 10 - 4.


Kina Gallery, New Plymouth
Peter Lambert with Winter Oils and People Studies


Home Work - Taranaki Art Now, the exhibition of Taranaki art at PukeAriki
An excellent showcase of Taranaki art. Wee're indebted to Puke Ariki for making it happen.
Until November.


The Art Room New gallery on Egmont Street
Community Art
See what artwork is being made throughout Taranaki.


Govett Brewster Art Gallery, New Plymouth
Now back and working, 12 and 2pm
Flip and Two Twisters (Trilogy)


Patea Gallery
93 Egmont Street (next to the Four Square), Main Road, Patea
The gallery is a non-profit making enterprise for the arts community.
The gallery aims to showcase local artists including those with connections to the area, to those who visit or pass through Patea, in a professional space.
The gallery is open five days a week: Wednesday – Sunday.
10-4 Weds-Sat, 10-2pm Sunday


Art Taranaki - de retour ŕ Paris
Artistes de Nouvelle-Zélande au 59 Rivoli

11 of us travelled and stayed in Paris. Carrying over 600 (!) works, by 30 Taranaki artists.
It was grand. More than 50 sales, lots of stories to tell.
You can see some of it on Facebook .... look for Travelling TArts.
or just click here.


New Plymouth's Mine
A sculpture to display a German naval mine which washed ashore by Belt Road in 1943.
Designed by Dale Copeland, and perfectly constructed by PACE engineering,
Now installed on the Coastal Walkway, just down from Belt Road.
It's a fascinating story, from the newly-formed New Plymouth Bomb Disposal Squad in 1943 up to 2015.
The book is finished and available from Dale. See details on her website.


VIRTUAL TART @ HOME

108 pages, 110 full-colour illustrations on high quality glossy stock. A5 size.
Art and artists from Taranaki, New Zealand.
$25 plus postage
Details are on www.dalecopeland.co.nz/Press


  Front Page   Exhibition   Showcase   News    Links    Guestbook 





These Taranaki artists have more of their work on their own Internet sites:
Paul Hutchinson at www.paulhutchinson.co.nz
and also on his "Another day" blog, at www.http://paul-hutchinson.blogspot.co.nz/
Dale Copeland at www.dalecopeland.co.nz
Mili Purpil at www.milipurpil.com
Margaret Scott at www.margaretscott.co.nz
Graham Kirk at www.grahamkirk.com
Amanda Griffin at www.gryphondesign.co.nz
Marianne Muggeridge at www.mariannemuggeridge.nz
Roger Morris at www.rogermorris.nz/
Renate Verbrugge at www.renateverbrugge/
Robert Clement at www.stainedglass-studio.co.nz
Carl Fairweather at www.carlfairweather.com
Michaela Stoneman at www.mbstoneman.com
Dorothy Andrews at www.dorothyandrewsartist.com


Got some more news for us?
please email


  Front Page   Exhibition   Showcase   News    Links    Guestbook